UNC Greensboro is built on a tradition of service. Not only is “Service” the University’s motto, it is our way of life. In honor of our unwavering commitment to service, the UNCG Board of Trustees annually confers upon deserving North Carolinians the University’s highest honors in recognition of exemplary public service and civic engagement.  

The Charles Duncan McIver Award, named for the University’s founder and first chancellor, honors North Carolinians for exceptional service to the state or nation. The Adelaide F. Holderness/H. Michael Weaver Award, named for Adelaide Holderness ’39, the first woman to serve on its Board of Trustees, and H. Michael Weaver, a long-time UNCG supporter who served the University in many capacities, recognizes a North Carolinian for outstanding service to the Triad or greater Greensboro community. 

UNCG’s Distinguished Service Awards celebrate those who embody the ideals of committed public servants. Past and future recipients inspire the University community toward greater service.

Nominations for the Charles Duncan McIver and Adelaide F. Holderness/H. Micheal Weaver Awards are now closed and are anticipated to reopen in September 2022.

Read about previous award winners.